Membership in a community: speaking, listening, and finding common ground

Recipients of teaching prizes

Jonathan Ellman, Eugene Higgins Professor of Chemistry and professor of pharmacology: Dylan Hixon ’88 Prize for Teaching Excellence in the Natural Sciences and Mathematics.

Glenda Gilmore, Peter V. and C. Vann Woodward Professor of History and professor of African American studies and American studies: Sidonie Miskimin Clauss ’75 Prize for Teaching Excellence in the Humanities.

Lloyd Grieger, assistant professor of sociology: Lex Hixon ’63 Prize for Teaching Excellence in the Social Sciences.

Miki Havlícková, Nathan Jacobson Lecturer in mathematics: Richard H. Brodhead ’68 Prize for Teaching Excellence by a Non-Ladder Faculty Member.

Daniel Magaziner, associate professor of history: Sarai Ribicoff ’79 Prize for Teaching Excellence in Yale College.

Craig Wright, Henry L. and Lucy G. Moses Professor of Music: Harwood F. Byrnes/Richard B. Sewall Teaching Prize.


Recipients of honorary degrees

Rosalie Silberman Abella, “one of the world’s finest living judges,” whose “pioneering judgments have extended the protection of law to all”: Doctor of Laws.

Jennifer Doudna, a Yale professor who, with her colleagues, has “discovered how to edit genomes with surgical precision, . . . opening possibilities    . . . to treat cystic fibrosis, sickle-cell anemia, and other genetic diseases”: Doctor of Science.

Calvin Hill ’69, “a Yale legend, . . . athlete, and humanitarian,” whose “dazzling running led Yale football to two Ivy League championships” and who “went on to 12 NFL seasons, a victory in Super Bowl VI, and two NFC titles”: Doctor of Humane Letters.

Audra McDonald, “the most honored performer in the history of the Tony Awards,” a “revelatory” actor and singer “marry[ing] effortless craft with soulful and surprising interpretation”: Doctor of Music.

Haruki Murakami, whose novels create “surreal universes of fantasy, dream, science fiction, and allegory, giving voice to the alienation and absurdity of postmodern existence”: Doctor of Letters.

Arnold Rampersad, whose work chronicling “the lives and legacies of African Americans . . . reveals the invisible, sets a high standard, and makes a distinctive contribution to our national culture”: Doctor of Humanities.

David Saperstein, an “ambassador-at-large for international religious freedom,” who has “promoted a vision of faith as a unifying force, empowering us to see the common good that we can do together”: Doctor of Divinity.

Alice Waters, “a chef, an educator, an artist, and an entrepreneur,” who conceived the Yale Sustainable Food Program and helps society “understand that the importance of food extends beyond the dinner table to environmental stewardship, health, ethics, and education”: Doctor of Humane Letters.

George C. Wolfe, a playwright and director who “bring[s] to light stories of what it is to be American, . . . command[ing] the stage with kinetic showmanship and intellectual sophistication”: Doctor of Fine Arts.

The comment period has expired.