Light & Verity

Elected Elis

Alumni in Congress and governorships.

Danny Howard

Danny Howard

View full image

There are four new Yale faces in the 118th Congress: J. D. Vance ’13JD (R–OH) was elected to the Senate, and Dan Goldman ’98 (D–NY), Kevin Kiley ’12JD (R-CA), and Seth Magaziner ’10MBA (D–RI) to the House. Representatives David Price ’64BD, ’69PhD (D–NC), and John Yarmuth ’69 (D–KY) did not run for reelection, and Carolyn Bourdeaux ’92 (D–GA) lost in a primary after redistricting. Ben Sasse ’04PhD (R–NE) left the Senate to become president of the University of Florida. Below is a list of Yale alumni in Congress and governor’s offices.

* Tom Cole ’74MA (R–OK)

* Brett Guthrie ’97MPPM (R–KY)

* Kevin Kiley ’12JD (R–CA)

* Bruce Westerman ’01MF (R–AR)

* Teresa Leger Fernandez ’82 (D–NM)

* Dan Goldman ’98 (D–NY)

* Ro Khanna ’01JD (D–CA)

* Sheila Jackson Lee ’72 (D–TX)

* Eleanor Holmes Norton ’63MA, ’64LLB (D–DC)

* Katie Porter ’96 (D–CA)

* Seth Magaziner ’10MBA (D–RI)

Josh Hawley ’06JD (R–MO)

* J. D. Vance ’13JD (R–OH)

* Michael Bennet ’93JD (D–CO)

* Richard Blumenthal ’73JD (D–CT)

Cory Booker ’97JD (D–NJ)

Sherrod Brown ’74 (D–OH)

Chris Coons ’92MAR, ’92JD (D–DE)

Amy Klobuchar ’82 (D–MN)

Sheldon Whitehouse ’78 (D–RI)

* Ron DeSantis ’01 (R–FL)

* Ned Lamont ’80MBA (D–CT)

* Elected or reelected in 2022


Note: In in the print version of this article and in an earlier online version, we left out newly elected representatives Kevin Kiley and Dan Goldman. We regret the error.

The comment period has expired.