Faculty of arts and sciences

Pulitzer honors for FAS faculty

Beverly Gage ’94 and Jing Tsu were honored by the Pulitzer Prize committee, representing a major victory for the FAS humanities division.

Gage, the John Lewis Gaddis Professor of History, was awarded the 2023 Pulitzer Prize in biography for her celebrated book G-Man: J. Edgar Hoover and the Making of the American Century, a nuanced and deeply researched account of the work and influence of the polarizing FBI director and his role shaping US politics. G-Man was previously awarded a National Book Critics Circle Award, the 2023 Bancroft Prize, an L.A. Times Book Prize, and other honors.

Tsu, the John M. Schiff Professor of East Asian Languages and Literatures and of Comparative Literature, was named a Pulitzer finalist in general nonfiction for her book Kingdom of Characters: The Language Revolution That Made China Modern. The book is a compelling story of the efforts of Chinese innovators to adapt the Chinese language for an age of information and globalism dominated by the Western alphabet. Kingdom of Characters was a New York Times notable book.

FAS affiliates earn national honors

The FAS congratulates current and emeritus faculty who were recently elected to national academies. Anna Marie Pyle, Sterling Professor of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology and professor of chemistry, and Michel Devoret, F. W. Beinecke Professor of Applied Physics and Physics, were elected to the National Academy of Sciences. Orazio P. Attanasio, Cowles Professor of Economics; Claire Bowern, professor of linguistics; Hazel Carby, Charles C. and Dorothea S. Dilley Professor Emeritus of African American Studies and of American studies; Leonid Glazman, Donner Professor of Physics and professor of applied physics; Yair Minsky, Einar Hille Professor of Mathematics; and Priyamvada Natarajan, Joseph S. and Sophia S. Fruton Professor of Astronomy and professor of physics; were elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The comment period has expired.