Graduate school of arts and sciences

Honoring exceptional mentorship and teaching

The Graduate Mentor Award recognizes faculty members who are exceptional in fostering the intellectual, professional, and personal development of their students. It is the university’s principal award for superb teaching, advising, and mentoring of graduate students. Each year a selection committee receives scores of letters from graduate students nominating outstanding mentors from across campus. This year’s winners are: Richard Carson, professor of radiology and biomedical imaging and of biomedical engineering; Marcia Inhorn, William K. Lanman Jr. Professor of Anthropology and professor in the MacMillan Center; Christina Kraus, Thomas A. Thacher Professor of Classics; and Ifat Levy, associate professor and vice chair for diversity, inclusion, and equity at comparative medicine.

In addition to the Graduate Mentor Awardees, eleven PhD students from across GSAS were named Prize Teaching Fellows for the 2022–23 academic year: Eason Cao ’23MMS (cell biology), Max Clayton ’19MAR, ’21MPhil (American studies), William Frazer ’21MPhil (earth and planetary science), John Garmon (physics), Xinyu Guan ’19, ’23MPhil (French), Justin Hawkins ’15MAR, ’23PhD (religious studies), Matthew King ’22, ’23MS (physics), Alexandria Palazzo (chemistry), Alejandro Quintana (classics and history), Shivnag Sista (physics), and Sidharth Tyagi (MD/PhD program). The Prize Teaching Fellowship has been given annually by GSAS since 2000. Recipients are nominated by their undergraduate students and the faculty members they assist while serving as teaching fellows. 

The comment period has expired.