This just in

On Yale & Yale alumni.
Ico print Print | Ico email Email | Facebook | | RSS

A big day for deans:
Yale names three new leaders

With his first commencement under his belt, President Peter Salovey ’86PhD has now announced three new deans who will help lead the university.

Tamar Gendler ’87, a philosophy professor who's been serving as deputy provost for humanities and initiatives, will take on the newly created position of Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences. Geneticist Lynn Cooley will become dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences; historian Jonathan Holloway ’95PhD will be the new dean of Yale College.

All three appointments take effect on July 1.

By creating the new job that Gendler will step into, the university allow Cooley and Holloway to “focus more attention on the quality of graduate and undergraduate education, respectively, including academic curriculum and student life,” Salovey writes. “Faculty recruitment, appointment, tenure, and promotion will be handled primarily by the dean of FAS.”

That doesn't mean Cooley and Holloway can take it easy, though.

“The dean of Yale College will have a key role in leading the expansion of Yale College and the formation of two new residential colleges,” Salovey notes. “The dean of the Graduate School will continue to advance graduate student preparation for scholarly and other professions, as well as focus on the campus experience for graduate students.”

Cooley, who has directed Yale's Combined Program in the Biological & Biomedical Sciences for more than a decade, will succeed Thomas Pollard, who is stepping down before the end of his five-year term as graduate school dean.

Holloway, who is finishing a stint as master of Calhoun College, takes over from art historian Mary Miller ’81PhD.


The Yale Alumni Magazine is published by Yale Alumni Publications Inc., an alumni-based nonprofit that is not run by Yale University. Its content does not necessarily reflect the views of the university administration.

Filed under Tamar Gendler, Jonathan Holloway, Lynn Cooley
The comment period has expired.