This just in

On Yale & Yale alumni.
Ico print Print | Ico email Email | Facebook | | RSS

Yale awards $1.35 million in new literary prizes

In 2006, Tarell Alvin McCraney ’07MFA was one of three playwriting students chosen to premiere their works in the Yale School of Drama's inaugural Carlotta Festival. Fast forward seven lucky years, and McCraney has scored again at his alma mater: he's one of the first winners of the new Windham Campbell Prizes at Yale.

Calling it "one of the largest literary prizes in the world," the university this morning announced nine writers who will receive $150,000 each "for outstanding achievement in fiction, nonfiction, and drama."

The nine, who range in age from 33 (that's McCraney) to 87, are James Salter, Zoë Wicomb, and Tom McCarthy in fiction; Naomi Wallace, Stephen Adly Guirgis, and McCraney in drama; and Jonny Steinberg, Adina Hoffman, and Jeremy Scahill in nonfiction.

The prize, totaling $1.35 million this year, was established in 2011 and is named for the late author Donald Windham and his partner, Sandy M. Campbell. This year's winners will receive their prizes at Yale in September, in conjunction with a literary festival.

Filed under Windham Campbell Prize, Tarell Alvin McCraney, School of Drama, literature
The comment period has expired.